Keystone Restaurant

Keystone Restaurant was established in mid 2011. This new kid on the block serves Modern European cuisine, and lead by Chef de Cuisine Mark Richards who has been trained in some notable restaurants in Singapore such as Ember , Poppi Restaurant at The Legends, Heart Bistro, and Nautilus Project. This restaurant offers ala carte menu and tasting menu.I had 8 courses Chef’s Tasting Menu.

Amuse Bouche:

Braised Blackmore Pork, Grape Sauce Gel, Truffle Mash

 I really like the combination, the flavors work harmoniously in my mouth. The sauce was tasty, truffle mashed was perfect, but the only let down in this dish was the pork. The meat was really tender, tasty, but slightly dry.

Rosemary and Parmesan Flavored Charcoal Focaccia Bread

 I didn’t quite enjoy this bread. It has a bitter aftertaste.

 

First Course:

Jamon Iberico, Caramelized Figs, Reblochon Cheese, Rockmelon Gel, Passion Fruit Sorbet

 Again, this dish was just another disappointment. I completely understand that the chef is trying to be innovative, but in the end of the day, it’s all about flavor. The combination was just…weird. Saltiness from the bacon and the cheese, the sweetness from caramelized figs didn’t go really well. Thanks to the Passion Fruit sorbet, it’s really refreshing.

 

Second Course:

 Georges Banks Sea Scallop, Chickpea Puree, Cherry Tomato Confit, Smoked Kurobota Soil

 The scallops were cooked to the perfection, the seasoning was spot on, but the chickpea puree was slightly grainy. Tomato Confit, I don’t think it belongs in this dish in my opinion. But this course brought me fresh air after a bad start.

 

Third Course:

Hot and Cold Foie Gras

Hot: Pan Fried Foie Gras, Dashi Broth, Japanese Cabbage, Seaweed

Cold: Foie Gras, Crispy Seaweed, Yuzu Gel

This dish is the star on that night. It’s so beautiful and perfect. Yes it’s Foie Gras, the ingredient tastes heaven by itself, but if it never treated with justice, it’s just nothing. But this plate of food was so brilliant, the Foie Gras was cooked perfectly, the Dashi Broth was extremely tasty. For me, the flavors marry in heaven. The cold version of Foie Gras did the same justice, it was so refreshing, the Yuzu Gel gave an extra kick at the end. Love it.

 

White Wine: Leeuwin Estate

 

Fourth Course:

Ravioli of Green Pea Cauliflower Tofu, Hon Shimeji, White Asparagus,Truffle Beurre Blanc

This dish for me is a celebration for vegetarian. Even though the green pea filing was slightly grainy, it tasted really good.

 

Fifth Course:

Chilean Seabass Confit, Oscietra, Salsify, Duck Liver Emulsion, Juniper Berry Air

 The fish was well executed, cooked to perfection, the flavor worked well, but the salsify was a bit under cooked. It’s too crunchy for me.

 

Sixth Course (Main Course):

 Snake River Farm Pork Belly, Kakuni, Blood Orange & Chili Jus, Yukon Chip, Karashi Paint

 Since the first bite of this dish, I felt I just wanted to dive in even more. The pork was packed with flavor, extremely tender, and the sauce complimented the pork really well. Amazing.

 

Seventh Course (pre-desert):

Berry and Rhubarb Sorbet

Very smooth and very refreshing sorbet.

 

Eight Course (dessert):

Acquerello Pudding, Black Sesame, Tropical Corn, Tarragon Meringue

Basically, it’s a deconstructed rice pudding. In my opinion, it’s a mediocre dessert. Maybe I’m not a really big fan of rice pudding, but flavor wise, it’s just too sweet.

 

Overall, Keystone Restaurant is a……..wait a minute…..No petit fours????????

It’s quite surprising because there were no petit fours after the dessert. I was waiting and hoping they can deliver a happy ending for me after my mediocre dessert. But after I wait for a while the waiter served the tea and I asked is there any petit fours, and the waiter explained to me they don’t have petit fours and the pre-desert was actually a palate cleanser.

I was slurping my tea and thinking was she joking or something. But finally I asked my bill.

The overall dining experience was great. I would give 7.5/10. But for the service, I would give 20 out of 10, They were friendly and warming. Immaculate service I can say.

 

Keystone Restaurant

11 Stanley Street, Singapore, 068730

62210046

http://www.keystonerestaurant.com.sg

 

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

